Bring our music home with you!

Joy the the World:
Christmas with the Bach Society

2017 Release

RECORDED LIVE at Powell Hall, A. Dennis Sparger, Conductor

Track Listing:

  1. Fanfare: Joy to the Wold – arr. Randol Alan Bass
  2. Away in a Manger – arr. Barlow Bradford
  3. God Rest Ye Merry, Gentlemen – arr. Barlow Bradford
  4. Infant Holy, Infant Lowly – arr. Mack Wilberg
  5. I Sing the Birth – Stephen Paulus
  6. Love Came Down at Christmas – Howard Helvey
  7. Angels We Have Heard on High – arr. David Cherwein
  8. Still, Still, Still – arr. Barlow Bradford
  9. Snow Lay on the Ground – Julius Wachner
  10. Fum, Fum, Fum – arr. Mack Wilberg
  11. The Virgin Mary Had a Baby Boy – arr. Robert DeCormier
  12. Sing We Now of Christmas (Noel Nouvelet)- Stephen Mager
  13. Carol of the Magi – John Rutter
  14. I Saw Three Ships- arr. Mack Wilberg
  15. What Child Is This – arr. Gary Lewis
  16. O Holy Night – arr. Mack Wilberg; Christine Brewer, soprano soloist

Gloria! Christmas with the Bach Society of Saint Louis

A. Dennis Sparger, conductor
St. Louis Archdiocesan Children’s Choir, John Romeni, conductor


Enjoy holiday favorites from the Candlelight Concerts, heard here in the glorious acoustics of Powell Symphony Hall with the Bach Society of Saint Louis Chorus and Orchestra as well as a guest choir of young performers.

Physical CDs are SOLD OUT

Track Listing:

  1. Ding Dong! Merrily on High – arr. Stephen Mager
  2. Wassail Song – arr. Edwin Fissinger
  3. What Child Is This? – arr. Dale Warland
  4. Bring a Torch, Jeannette, Isabella – arr. Stephen Mager
  5. Go Tell It on the Mountain – arr. Steve Barnett
  6. Carol of the Bells – Mykola Leontovich
  7. Dublin Bells Carol – David Mooney
  8. Birthday Carol – David Willcocks
    A Musicological Journey through the Twelve Days of Christmas – Craig Courtney
  9. A Partridge from 6th century Rome
  10. Two Turtle Doves from 15th century France
  11. Three French Hens from 16th century Italy
  12. Four Calling Birds from 17th century Italy
  13. Five Gold Rings from 18th century Germany
  14. Six Geese a-Laying from 18th century Austria
  15. Seven Swans a-Swimming from 19th century France
  16. Eight Maids a-Milking from 19th century Germany
  17. Nine Ladies Dancing from 19th century Austria
  18. Ten Lords a-Leaping from 19th century Italy
  19. Eleven Pipers Piping from 19th century Russia
  20. Twelve Drummers Drumming from 19th century USA
  21. O Nata Lux – Morten Lauridsen
  22. Ave Maria – Bach/Gounod
    Gloria – John Rutter
  23. Gloria in excelsis
  24. Domine Deus, Rex caelestis
  25. Quoniam tu salus sanctus
  26. Here Is Joy for Every Age – setting by Stephen Mager
  27. What Child – Paul Lohman
  28. Silent Night! Holy Night! – arr. A Dennis Sparger
  29. We Wish You a Merry Christmas – arr. Arthur Warrell

Great & Marvelous: Hymns, Anthems and Spirituals with the Bach Society

A. Dennis Sparger, Conductor
Stephen Mager, Composer-in-Residence


Physical CDs are SOLD OUT

Track Listing:

  1. Praise to the Lord – F. Melius Christiansen
  2. Thou Gracious God, Whose Mercy Lends – Mack Wilberg
  3. Jesus, My All, to Heaven Is Gone – Howard Helvey
  4. Song of Triumph – Dale Grotenhuis
  5. Be Still, My Soul – Mack Wilberg
  6. All Hail the Power of Jesus’ Name – James Mulholland
    Steve Slusher, Assistant Conductor
  7. Abide with Me – W.H. Monk
  8. God So Loved the World – John Stainer
  9. When I Survey the Wondrous Cross – Gilbert M. Martin
  10. I wanna be ready – James Miller
  11. The Lord’s Prayer – Albert Hay Malotte
  12. O Taste and See * – Stephen Mager
  13. The Glorified Christ Appears to His Mother * – Stephen Mager
  14. There Will Be Rest – Frank Ticheli
    Dr. Joel D. Knapp, Associate Conductor
  15. The Battle of Jericho – Moses Hogan
  16. Here I Am, Lord – Dan Schutte/Ovid Young
  17. Praise His Holy Name – Keith Hampton
  18. This Little Light of Mine – Moses Hogan
  19. E’en So, Lord Jesus, Quickly Come – Paul Manz
    * Commissioned and premiered by the Bach Society of Saint Louis

Rossini: Petite Messe Solennelle

Gioacchino Rossini (1792–1868)
A. Dennis Sparger, conductor

Angela Horn, Contralto; Thomas Barrett, Bass
Jan Prokop, Soprano; Randal Rushing, Tenor


Recorded live at St. Francis Xavier College Church on April 28, 2002

Physical CDs are SOLD OUT

Track Listing:

  1. Kyrie eleison – Chorus
  2. Gloria in excelsis Deo – Soloists and Chorus
  3. Gratias agimus tibi – Terzetto for Contralto, Tenor and Bass
  4. Domine Deus – Tenor solo
  5. Qui tollis peccata mundi – Duet for Soprano and Contralto
  6. Quoniam tu solus sanctus – Bass solo
  7. Cum Sancto Spiritu – Chorus
  8. Credo in unum Deum – Soloists and Chorus
  9. Crucifixus etiam pro nobis – Soprano solo
  10. Et resurrexit tertia die – Soloists and Chorus
  11. Sanctus – Soloists and Chorus
  12. O salutaris hostia – Soprano solo
  13. Agnus Dei – Contralto solo and Chorus